2015 Denny C. Plattner Awards

We are proud to announce the winners of the annual Denny C. Plattner Awards, which were established in 1995 by Kenneth and Elissa Plattner to honor their late son and his love of writing. The awards are given to the finest pieces of fiction, creative nonfiction, and poetry that appeared in Appalachian Heritage during the previous year. Winners receive a $200 prize, and both winners and honorable mentions are awarded a handsome cherry wooden book rack designed and manufactured by Berea College Crafts.

Judged by Silas House, author of A Parchment of Leaves and The Coal Tattoo
Winner: Clarissa Nemeth, “Broke Your Heart Just About Every Way How”
Honorable Mention: Natalie Sypolt, “Stalking the White Deer”

Judged by Jeremy B. Jones, author of Bearwallow: A Personal History of a Mountain Homeland
Winner: Jackson Connor, “Speaking of Lineage”
Honorable Mention: Jessie van Eerden, “The Long Weeping”

Judged by Jesse Graves, author of Basin Ghosts and Tennessee Landscape with Blighted Pine
Winner: Marianne Worthington, “I saw Bobby Bare kiss Marty Stuart”
Honorable Mention: Bill King, “Hawks at Dusk”

Jason Kyle Howard is the author of A Few Honest Words and co-author of Something's Rising, both works of literary journalism. His essays, features, and commentary have appeared in the New York Times, Oxford American, Salon, The Millions, The Nation, Sojourners, and on C-SPAN's Book TV and NPR. Howard is editor of Appalachian Review, a literary quarterly based at Berea College, where he teaches and directs the creative writing program. He serves on the graduate faculty of the Spalding University School of Creative and Professional Writing, and holds an MFA in Writing from Vermont College of Fine Arts and degrees from The George Washington University and the University of Kentucky.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.